Thank you for joining us at our

14th Annual Community Recognition Award Dinner

On Sunday, November 12, 2017, we honored Commander David Lazar of the San Francisco Police Department for his service to the underserved and disadvantaged in our community. Thank you to all of those who supported the event. We successfully raised over $110,000.

David Lazar.jpg

A look at our honoree

Commander David Lazar is a 4th generation San Franciscan and has been a member of the San Francisco Police Department for 26 years. During his time in the Department, Commander Lazar has been assigned to 8 of the 10 police district stations, Investigations Division as an Inspector and Captain, Administration and the Special Operations Bureaus. As a Captain, Commander Lazar served in various assignments including the Urban Area Security initiative where he planned the security element for America’s Cup, Commanding Officer of the Police Academy, and Captain of Ingleside and Central Stations. During his time at Central Station, Commander Lazar was the Event Commander for Super Bowl City. Commander Lazar, 10 years ago, worked to build “Operation Outreach” which is the Department’s strategy to work collaboratively with the City and non-profit organizations to address the City’s homeless issue. Today, Commander Lazar oversees the Community Engagement Division where he is continuing his work, representing the Department on the homeless issue, partnering with City and non-profit agencies. Commander Lazar has been married to his wife Julie for 23 years and they have 3 children, Adrianna 22, Nicolas 20, and Grace age 9.